MinGW-w64

General questions regarding the usage of CodeLite
moozoo
CodeLite Curious
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 7:43 am
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: c++
Contact:

MinGW-w64

Post by moozoo »

Is it possible to generate and debug MinGW-w64 applications?
How do I set this up.

The new AMD OpenCL 2.0 only works with 64 bit programs and I was looking to go 64 bit anyway.
I'd rather stick with Codelite WxWidgets and MinGW.

Is it just a matter of installing MinGW-w64 and configuring a compiler?

Note I'm not asking for Codelite to be 64 bits. Only to be able to create and debug 64 bit applications.
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6373
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: MinGW-w64

Post by eranif »

moozoo wrote:Is it possible to generate and debug MinGW-w64 applications?
Yes
moozoo wrote:Is it just a matter of installing MinGW-w64 and configuring a compiler?
Install it and let codelite detect it from: settings->build settings->compilers->Add compilers->scan computer for installed compilers
If codelite does not auto-detect it, you can help it a bit by pointing codelite to the "bin" folder of your compiler from:
settings->build settings->compilers->Add compilers->add an existing compiler

Next, open your project settings and change the compiler from: project settings->common settings->general->compiler
and select your 64bit compiler

In the newly added toolchain, you should also add the proper gdb (I don't think that codelite does that by default...)

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
foxmuldr
CodeLite Expert
Posts: 120
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 6:56 am
Contact:

Re: MinGW-w64

Post by foxmuldr »

eranif wrote:In the newly added toolchain, you should also add the proper gdb (I don't think that codelite does that by default...)
Eran
Correct. :-) This was my issue in another thread. However, I'm still getting an odd 64-bit error and I don't understand its cause.
Best regards,
Rick C. Hodgin
www.Visual-FreePro.org
www.LibSF.org
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6373
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: MinGW-w64

Post by eranif »

foxmuldr wrote:eranif wrote:
In the newly added toolchain, you should also add the proper gdb (I don't think that codelite does that by default...)
Eran
This is fixed in git head, i.e. codelite will also pick the proper gdb executable and will use it

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
moozoo
CodeLite Curious
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 7:43 am
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: c++
Contact:

Re: MinGW-w64

Post by moozoo »

Thank you for the 64 bit windows version of Codelite :)
It's fantastic.
I now have my project running in 64 bits (TDM-GCC) with OpenCL 2.0 (AMD only supports as 64 bit at the moment).

I really appreciate your efforts Eran. Codelite just gets better and better.
Post Reply