Has anyone encountered the same problem? I used to [Debugger | Quick Debug...] my program, and it works perfectly in CodeLite 5 and 4. But in CodeLite 6, a dialog will popup saying "Could not start TTY console for debugger!" every time I Quick Debug, and all messages my program output to stdout will be missing.
The CodeLite I'm using is compiled by my self. I'm wondering if I compiled it wrong or this is actually a known bug?
thanks in advance for any reply.
Could not start TTY console for debugger!
-
- CodeLite Curious
- Posts: 5
- Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 9:05 am
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Contact:
- eranif
- CodeLite Plugin
- Posts: 6375
- Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Contact:
Re: Could not start TTY console for debugger!
You need to install xterm
Eran
Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
-
- CodeLite Curious
- Posts: 5
- Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 9:05 am
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Contact:
Re: Could not start TTY console for debugger!
After installing xterm, the warning message is gone. Thank you, Eran.eranif wrote:You need to install xterm
Eran
One more question.
Is it possible to configure CodeLite to use bin/codelite-terminal as the output target?
Also, what is bin/codelite_xterm for? I noticed it is a shell script.
Thanks again. m(_ _)m
- eranif
- CodeLite Plugin
- Posts: 6375
- Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Contact:
Re: Could not start TTY console for debugger!
When debugging, you can only use xterm. For running your target _not_ under the debugger, you can configure codelite to use codelite-terminal (settings->global editor preferences->terminal->use codelite builtin terminal)wsxkwu wrote:One more question.
Is it possible to configure CodeLite to use bin/codelite-terminal as the output target?
This the wrapper script that codelite uses to launch xterm. It is there to provide a simple way of "pausing" the terminal after the program execution terminates and display the message "Hit ENTER to continue"wsxkwu wrote:Also, what is bin/codelite_xterm for? I noticed it is a shell script.
Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
-
- CodeLite Curious
- Posts: 5
- Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 9:05 am
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Contact:
Re: Could not start TTY console for debugger!
Thank you, Eran. The information is very detailed. Thank you so much. m(_ _)m