CodeLite 5.1 Ubuntu 12.4 under VmPlayer
I followed the instructions in another post regarding the debugger check box for "Use predefined types..."
But still when I look at a string contained within a class I first see lots of std::string internal information and (if I even can) I have to scroll horizontally very far to see what the actual string value. Is this setting supposed to cause the display of just the "payload" of the string?
Locals view and hovering view of std::string
-
- CodeLite Enthusiast
- Posts: 30
- Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 6:12 am
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Contact:
- eranif
- CodeLite Plugin
- Posts: 6375
- Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Contact:
Re: Locals view and hovering view of std::string
Use codelite 5.2, and then enable 'Settings -> GDB Settings -> General' and tick the option 'Enable GDB Pretty Printing'
Eran
Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
-
- CodeLite Enthusiast
- Posts: 30
- Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 6:12 am
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Contact:
Re: Locals view and hovering view of std::string
I've finally upgraded to 5.2 and have ticked "predefined types" and "pretty printing".
But I still have to expand a string about 5 levels before I see it's contents. Is this the intended behavior, or I do I need to to change some other settings?
But I still have to expand a string about 5 levels before I see it's contents. Is this the intended behavior, or I do I need to to change some other settings?
- eranif
- CodeLite Plugin
- Posts: 6375
- Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Contact:
Re: Locals view and hovering view of std::string
to be able to view std::string you should have a gdb with python enabled.
Eran
Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
-
- CodeLite Enthusiast
- Posts: 30
- Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 6:12 am
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Contact:
Re: Locals view and hovering view of std::string
Under "debugger settings" I don't see any specific option to enable Python. But, on the "startup commands" panel the first line is "python".
Is there something else that needs to be done?
Is there something else that needs to be done?
-
- CodeLite Expert
- Posts: 231
- Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 8:04 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: c++
- Location: Los Angeles
- Contact:
Re: Locals view and hovering view of std::string
I used to have the same problem which I resolved by checking the above-mentioned options and unchecking "Auto cast 'car[] into 'char*'".
I have different CL versions on different PCs though, incl. different wx builds (that may or not use std::string for wxString), so there are a number of factors involved, but never came across a show-stopper.
cheers,
-- p
I have different CL versions on different PCs though, incl. different wx builds (that may or not use std::string for wxString), so there are a number of factors involved, but never came across a show-stopper.
cheers,
-- p
main: Debian Jessie x64 + custom wxTrunk