'makedir' is not recognized

General questions regarding the usage of CodeLite
wittend
CodeLite Enthusiast
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2008 9:11 pm
Contact:

Re: 'makedir' is not recognized

Post by wittend »

I may have it!
I still have questions, but I found that :

in Settings -> Environment Variables
------------------------------------------------
WXCFG E:\bin\wxWidgets-2.8.9\lib\gcc_dll\mswud

should have read (as the webpage says):
WXCFG gcc_dll\mswud

I don't remember when I changed this!
I began with several misconceptions, and would fix one thing and break another.


Thanks,

-- Dave
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6372
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: 'makedir' is not recognized

Post by eranif »

You dont need to specify the -D by hand. The wx-config tool will do this for you, we just need to make it work as it should.

Now, can u open a cmd.exe window and run wx-config?

Note: make sure that you are not running it from E:\Program Files\CodeLite, but from some other path.

This is to check that wx-config is in your path

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
wittend
CodeLite Enthusiast
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2008 9:11 pm
Contact:

Re: 'makedir' is not recognized

Post by wittend »

Yes, that works. The path is working. Everything compiles. miraculous!

I had to put my wx* dlls where they could be found to be able to run the compiled app.

I notice that the wxWidget apps being created open up a 'DOS' window before opening the main graphical window. I thought that there was an option in the installer or somewhere to eliminate that. Does it work?

-- Dave
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6372
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: 'makedir' is not recognized

Post by eranif »

I notice that the wxWidget apps being created open up a 'DOS' window before opening the main graphical window. I thought that there was an option in the installer or somewhere to eliminate that. Does it work?
The window is because codelite launched it for you to see the 'hit any key to continue...' (useful for console applications...)

right click on your project, select 'settings' and untick the option 'pause when execution ends'

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
wittend
CodeLite Enthusiast
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2008 9:11 pm
Contact:

Re: 'makedir' is not recognized

Post by wittend »

Ok, I get it.

Thanks for all the (patient) assistance.

This is a really great project, and you are doing wonderful work!

-- Dave
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6372
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: 'makedir' is not recognized

Post by eranif »

wittend wrote:Ok, I get it.

Thanks for all the (patient) assistance.

This is a really great project, and you are doing wonderful work!

-- Dave
Thank you

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
denk_mal
CodeLite Enthusiast
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 6:20 pm
Contact:

Re: 'makedir' is not recognized

Post by denk_mal »

Hi eranif, hi wittend,

i have also a path problem. If I made a custom build parts of my environment is not found.
I have written a small bat file that contains only 2 lines to see the path var

Code: Select all

@echo off
echo %PATH%
On the command line I get the following output

Code: Select all

C:\WINDOWS\system32;C:\WINDOWS;C:\WINDOWS\System32\Wbem;C:\Programme\QuickTime\QTSystem\;C:\Programme\TortoiseSVN\bin;;N:\devel\tools\MinGW\bin;N:\devel\tools\MinGW\mingw32\bin;N:\devel\tools\msys\bin;N:\devel\tools\MinGW;N:\devel\tools\Bakefile;N:\devel\tools\Bakefile\src;N:\devel\tools\poEdit\bin;
When I set this batch file as a command for building (settings.../custom build) I got the following output regardless if I extend the path variable inside of Codelite or not.

Code: Select all

N:\devel\tools\MinGW\bin;C:\Programme\CodeLite
It looks to me a litte bit that the path var is not epanded but replaced

greetings
denk_mal

Tested with Codelite v1.0.2247 and v1.0.2285
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6372
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: 'makedir' is not recognized

Post by eranif »

Hi denk_mal!
denk_mal wrote:and v1.0.2285
Good, this means that you have SVN version of codelite.

Several revisions ago, I added some warnings in case codelite fails to read/write the PATH variable.

Do u get any WARNING messages in the 'Trace' tab?

Some background:
When launching CodeLite, one of the first things CodeLite does, is manipulating the PATH environment variable 'PATH':
It adds the installation path of CodeLite (from the output you provided, it looks like it did it well
denk_mal wrote:N:\devel\tools\MinGW\bin;C:\Programme\CodeLite
)
and in case default MinGW is detected, it will add it as well.

You can see the code that manipulates the PATH variable at app.cpp in OnInit() method

Code: Select all

	// Update PATH environment variable with the install directory and
	// MinGW default installation (if exists)
	wxString pathEnv;
	if(wxGetEnv(wxT("PATH"), &pathEnv) == false){
		wxLogMessage(_("WARNING: Failed to load environment variable PATH!"));
	} else {
		pathEnv << wxT(";") << homeDir << wxT(";");
		if(wxDirExists(wxT("C:\\MinGW-3.4.5\\bin"))){
			pathEnv << wxT("C:\\MinGW-3.4.5\\bin;");
		}
		if(wxSetEnv(wxT("PATH"), pathEnv) == false){
			wxLogMessage(_("WARNING: Failed to update environment variable PATH"));
		}
	}
You can also try and comment this code out and test it again.

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
denk_mal
CodeLite Enthusiast
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 6:20 pm
Contact:

Re: 'makedir' is not recognized

Post by denk_mal »

Hi Eran,
eranif wrote:Do u get any WARNING messages in the 'Trace' tab?
no I got no warning in the trace tab.

I set a wxMessageBox(pathEnv) before and after the path manipulation and it works correct.
Even commenting out that piece of code doesn't change the wrong path at build time.

EDIT:
I found out that in customerbuildrequest.cpp; after line 45 the variable value contains the wrong path that came up in the batch.
Where will this be set?

EDIT2:
I found the point of failure; I have set the PATH environment variable in the global settings for g++ without a leading '$(PATH);' :oops:


Frank
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6372
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: 'makedir' is not recognized

Post by eranif »

denk_mal wrote:I found the point of failure; I have set the PATH environment variable in the global settings for g++ without a leading '$(PATH);'
You are not the first one to make this mistake...

I will add a warning box on that piece of code to alert user for such cases

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
Post Reply