Portability
-
- CodeLite Enthusiast
- Posts: 37
- Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 12:49 pm
- Contact:
Portability
Hi,
I am using codelite V2.8.0.4537 on WinXP SP3.
I have it installed on an external USB Hard drive and use it for embedded development.
This way I can use it at work on a desktop and at home on a laptop.
When I make changes such as adding a new compiler the new setting are stored in "Documents and Settings"
which means that the new settings are not portable across the two machines.
Is it possible to have the current settings stored to the Codelite directory?
Many thanks,
Noel Diviney.
I am using codelite V2.8.0.4537 on WinXP SP3.
I have it installed on an external USB Hard drive and use it for embedded development.
This way I can use it at work on a desktop and at home on a laptop.
When I make changes such as adding a new compiler the new setting are stored in "Documents and Settings"
which means that the new settings are not portable across the two machines.
Is it possible to have the current settings stored to the Codelite directory?
Many thanks,
Noel Diviney.
- eranif
- CodeLite Plugin
- Posts: 6375
- Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Contact:
Re: Portability
No.ndivner wrote:Is it possible to have the current settings stored to the Codelite directory?
FYI: This was the behavior of codelite version < 2.6
The problem is that under newer versions of windows, the non admin users are not allowed to write into the default installation directory (C:\Program Files (x86)\CodeLite) so it is a problem. The recommended path for user data is C:\Users\<name>\AppData\Roaming\CodeLite (this is the path for Windows 7) (similar to Linux ~/.codelite)
Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
-
- CodeLite Guru
- Posts: 352
- Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2009 7:36 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Contact:
Re: Portability
I have an idea,
What if you add a switch to specify the config directory
something like:
CodeLite.exe -d /My/Path/To/Config/
and if that switch is not specified then CL will launch the default settings
What if you add a switch to specify the config directory
something like:
CodeLite.exe -d /My/Path/To/Config/
and if that switch is not specified then CL will launch the default settings
CodeLite 15.x
CodeLite is awesome, I just Love it!
-
- CodeLite Guru
- Posts: 351
- Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 7:26 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Location: France
- Contact:
- eranif
- CodeLite Plugin
- Posts: 6375
- Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Contact:
Re: Portability
And how should we tackle users who installs codelite on machine where they have no permissions to write to the installation directory? (e.g. students who got a machine with codelite already installed on it, work places etc.)jfouche wrote:The path should be relative to codelite executable path.
Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
-
- CodeLite Guru
- Posts: 351
- Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 7:26 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Location: France
- Contact:
Re: Portability
Hello Eraneranif wrote:And how should we tackle users who installs codelite on machine where they have no permissions to write to the installation directory? (e.g. students who got a machine with codelite already installed on it, work places etc.)jfouche wrote:The path should be relative to codelite executable path.
I don't understand the sample you provided. I don't see a useful use case for the need of an absolute path, but it's not a problem to use either an absolute or relative to codelite directory path.
Jérémie
- eranif
- CodeLite Plugin
- Posts: 6375
- Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Contact:
Re: Portability
You misunderstood me. I don't want to provide a way for codelite to get the config files, each OS provides its own location for such files (~/.appname for Linux, %APPDATA% for Windows and somewhere I cant remember for Mac)jfouche wrote:I don't see a useful use case for the need of an absolute path
And this is how it should be.
We could provide a way to import/export codelite settings to another box
Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
-
- CodeLite Guru
- Posts: 352
- Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2009 7:36 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Contact:
Re: Portability
Another Idea is add a setting that defines whether CL is running in portable or non portable mode. If it is running in portable mode then it have to look config files in CL Dir if not it should look in standard location(s)
CodeLite 15.x
CodeLite is awesome, I just Love it!