What about those 'Global settings' ?
Since rev. 2766 I have to set this project setting to 'Overwrite global settings' to get my old projects or even CL compiled. Where are those 'Global settings' and where can I change them ?
At the moment I work only on WinXP, so I don't know how it is for Mac or Linux, but when I leave this setting to 'Append to global settings' at least windres fails, complaining that it can not find 'wx/msw/wx.rc', although '$(WXWIN)/include' is entered in the additional search path in the resources tab.
So I don't actually understand, how this feature is supposed to work, I mean If I overwrite the path or append it, windres should in both cases find the appropriate file.
Frank
'Use with global settings'?
-
- CodeLite Expert
- Posts: 176
- Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2008 2:45 pm
- Contact:
- eranif
- CodeLite Plugin
- Posts: 6375
- Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Contact:
Re: 'Use with global settings'?
Hi Frank,
This is a new feature, 'Global Settings' is a way to add paths/libraries to the whole other configurations defined for a given project.
I tried your scenario, and it seems that if you place a dot ('.') in the global settings (select them from the project settings dialog -> configuration type -> global settings) and inside the 'resources' tab, add '.' (dot)
For your question about Mac/Linux, well, they dont really use resources
Eran
This is a new feature, 'Global Settings' is a way to add paths/libraries to the whole other configurations defined for a given project.
I tried your scenario, and it seems that if you place a dot ('.') in the global settings (select them from the project settings dialog -> configuration type -> global settings) and inside the 'resources' tab, add '.' (dot)
For your question about Mac/Linux, well, they dont really use resources
Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
- eranif
- CodeLite Plugin
- Posts: 6375
- Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Contact:
Re: 'Use with global settings'?
Hi Frank
I committed a fix, that should fix your problem, can you give it a try?
Thanks,
Eran
I committed a fix, that should fix your problem, can you give it a try?
Thanks,
Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
-
- CodeLite Expert
- Posts: 176
- Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2008 2:45 pm
- Contact:
Re: 'Use with global settings'?
Hi Eran,
I tried rev. 2772 and it is still the same. I can not add a single dot to the 'Global settings resource path, since there is always a semicolon added after the dot, when I reopen the dialog.
This happens only in the Resources->Additional search path field, for compiler and linker it works as expected.
Looks like this is still same work in progress, since the checkable compiler, linker options list is not yet filled and the 'Apply' button is not yet working in the 'Global Settings' page.
Frank
I tried rev. 2772 and it is still the same. I can not add a single dot to the 'Global settings resource path, since there is always a semicolon added after the dot, when I reopen the dialog.
This happens only in the Resources->Additional search path field, for compiler and linker it works as expected.
Looks like this is still same work in progress, since the checkable compiler, linker options list is not yet filled and the 'Apply' button is not yet working in the 'Global Settings' page.
Frank
- eranif
- CodeLite Plugin
- Posts: 6375
- Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Contact:
Re: 'Use with global settings'?
please set the build log, since I dont really see any problemfrank_frl wrote:2772 and it is still the same
This does not matter, since the ';' is the separator and it will be removed later by the makefile generatorfrank_frl wrote:I can not add a single dot to the 'Global settings resource path, since there is always a semicolon added after the dot, when I reopen the dialog.
This part is completed. To see the list, you will need to delete your local settings (C:\Program Files\Codelite\config\build_settings.xml)frank_frl wrote:Looks like this is still same work in progress, since the checkable compiler, linker options list is not yet filled
The 'Apply' button is not working period. You can follow the discussion in the 'CodeLite Development' forumfrank_frl wrote:the 'Apply' button is not yet working in the 'Global Settings' page
http://codelite.org/forum/viewtopic.php ... t=10#p1808
Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
-
- CodeLite Expert
- Posts: 176
- Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2008 2:45 pm
- Contact:
Re: 'Use with global settings'?
Why this happens only in the Resources->Additional search path field, for compiler and linker no semicolon is added.This does not matter, since the ';' is the separator and it will be removed later by the makefile generatorfrank_frl wrote:I can not add a single dot to the 'Global settings resource path, since there is always a semicolon added after the dot, when I reopen the dialog.
After deleting this file everything works as expected.This part is completed. To see the list, you will need to delete your local settings (C:\Program Files\Codelite\config\build_settings.xml)frank_frl wrote:Looks like this is still same work in progress, since the checkable compiler, linker options list is not yet filled
Frank
- eranif
- CodeLite Plugin
- Posts: 6375
- Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Contact:
Re: 'Use with global settings'?
I am not sure why, HOWEVER, this does not mean that there is a bug in it, you can add as many semi colons as you want - it still wont change a thing. I still fail to see the problem. Can u provide me with a step by step way to reproduce it?frank_frl wrote:Why this happens only in the Resources->Additional search path field, for compiler and linker no semicolon is added.
I already did the following:
- create new empty workspace
- add new wxwidgets project
- added .rc file to the project
- I updated the global settings with $(shell wx-config --rcflags) (in the resource options)
The above seems to work
Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread